London’s Anarchist Book Fair

So a few weeks (oh god, has it really been a few weeks already?) ago my partner and I took part of London (Ontario)’s Anarchist Book Fair, I believe the 3rd Annual.  This time around it was held in At^lohsa Native Family Healing Services.  First off, wow this space was FANTASTIC!  It was roomy, bright, and had a variety of spaces for workshops, and even an eating area.  In retrospect I wish I had taken more photos of the beautiful architecture and details of the space.  This was our first time with a table at an Anarchist book fair, and honestly we weren’t 100% sure how we would do.  Technically speaking, I don’t consider myself an Anarchist (I don’t subscribe to formulas yo), and have some pretty mixed views on politics and social structure.  When forced to label myself (or my art) I usually settle on Existential Naturalist.  Anywho, the book fair was actually quite successful.  It is always so re-assuring to have positive feedback from others, it makes the work feel that much more satisfying.  I want to congratulate my partner on completing a second pamphlet zine, and nearly completing a third!

Also at the book fair, an artist collective called the Beehive Design Collective had a huge, and beautiful mural up for display.  They also sell poster prints of these (double-sided that gate fold open! super super cool!).  They also had someone talking about the metaphors and meanings of the pieces, which were actually really thoughtful and well planned.  I always appreciate art that has symbolism and meaning that doesn’t make me roll my eyes.  They have a lot of neat patches and their webstore is sliding scale to help with the pocket-book.  I highly recommend checking out their website here.

I really par-downed my display for this event, since we were going straight from the book fair to our annual street party, fireworks bananza Burn the Kids.  Plus being a book fair, I wanted to focus on paper products.  For this event I did have a new item, a series of original drawings in mini glass bottles.  I filled the bottles with little precious stones and rocks that I have collected from different parts of Ontario.  I called the series Keeping It All In (Ontario).  I think I will make a Behance project for these guys (or I suppose I should say gals), with more information.

express yourself and comment

