Rag Bag Bazaar and Dundas Street Festival June 14 2014

So this past weekend, my partner Hrafn, and I had a table a local art bazaar and street festival.  This isn’t the first Rag Bag bazaar I have taken part in, and certainly won’t be the last.  It reminded me that I need to start posting on here more often, because surprise!  People actually want to be able to find me online, and see my new work online (or I suppose work that I have now finished).  So, I’m going to try to at least update everything I have online and maintain this blog with WIP updates more often.  Also, please feel free to contact me through e-mail anytime with inquiries about items you have seen at festivals or custom ordering.

Now, on to the Bazaar… It was an up and down sort of day.  It was insanely windy, which meant that my display had to be very flat, and very weighted down (seeing your art get blown onto Dundas street doesn’t make your stomach feel too great as it turns out).  I think it negatively affected some sales, but I just tried to be encouraging for people to pick items up.  Unfortunately my always openness for people to touch resulted in disaster… even though I never suggested for this particular child to touch (he picked up some of our mini zines and alien crayons and thought they were free and tried to walk away with them..), he then proceeded to pick up my most recently finished doll (one which I haven’t properly documented) and literally rip her arm off.  Jerry tried to catch up with the kid and mom, but they were quick to flee after the incident.  :(  I guess this means I will have to keep my dolls farther back and only allow adults to touch (with a stress on being gentle).  The sad part is, is that my dolls really are not that delicate.  I have dropped them at home, or have had Dante pull them off of a table (or pushed ahah), without any breaks.  But I’m confident I will be able to fix her arm,  luckily it is covered by clothing at the break.  But in good news, I sold the last two catopi from my series, the last prints for a few designs, and most surprisingly (and most painfully) I sold Diana and Lapin.  Diana and Lapin were my first finished clay doll set, and part of a larger story I have been working on for some time.  It was incredibly thrilling to have someone love her enough to take her home!!  I hope that wherever she is, she is being admired.

The biggest “reveal” of this show (I always try to have at least two different and new items at a show), was the hand bound book I put together.  It is 24 pages long, includes one longer story, multiple fragments, bird girls with floating islands, space cat comics, and some sneak peaks for other ideas I’m working on.  I learned a new binding technique, and hand stamped each cover.  I received a lot of positive feedback about these and look forward to creating I am filled with ghosts vol. 2.  I will be posting more about this release on my Behance page within the next week or so.  My partner also created a new zine for the Rag Bag, it is called Alone.  He also learned new binding techniques, and he even added belly bands.  I have to admit, I’m pretty damn proud that we both finished our books on time, though it did result in us literally have two hours of sleep before!

 

express yourself and comment

