Anomelope {custom Monster High}

Okay, so I’m finally getting around to posting Anomelope, the custom finished Monster High doll that I gave to my sister for Yule.  She started as an Abbie Bominable, and after looking at a few of her customs online.. I knew that I had to make her beautiful, with big eyes, and that hair HAD TO GO.  All of the Abbie customs I saw made her into a bitch looking ice queen (which I guess is what she is supposed to be) but I wanted to give her a fresher personality.   I hate tinsel hair on dolls, it looks cheap, it doesn’t feel nice and frequently little pieces fall out every time you touch it (very true with this girl).  Being the first fully finished Monster High custom that I’ve done, I’m really happy with her.  I wasn’t able to sand her joints down, due to the fact that she is covered with a thick layer of glitter, BUT the glitter already made the joints a lot less noticeable than other Monster High dolls.  I was concerned about removing her face paint, and wasn’t sure how the glitter on her face would work.. most of it came off with the paint, but a nice thin layer remained, so her face is still a little bit sparkly (to still match her very sparkly body).   I also had no problem simply painting over the glitter on her body to add her “tattoos”.  I had sewn her dress, petticoat and arm bands.  Her *new* hair is a LIV wig, that I was lucky enough to find in a thrift store one time.  On the other hand, pulling out Abbie’s old hair.. was tiresome.  It took a lot longer than I expected, and I definitely pinched a nerve in my thumb (it felt tingly and painful for a month after).  It makes me re-think wanting to do a full re-root.  But at the end of it all, I loved doing this doll, I love how she turned out and I look forward to working on more (uh hello Miss Swamp Honey that I just got for my birthday..)

PS: Curious to see Abbie’s before?  Check out this post from last March which includes a shot of her when I first bought her! Thanks for reading.

express yourself and comment

