Single Day Cheese Bread {without a bread maker!}

Whew. How time flies in the summer time!   I have been very busy the last few weeks, everything from camping out under the stars (literally, with no tent), multi hour bike rides, making new foods on a daily basis, a poop load of gardening (literally), re-arranging all the furniture in the house, plus all the work we’ve been doing purging the organizing the house.  Needless to say, by the end of the night I am passing out with exhaustion.

But, I am here today with another instalment of my recipe series, this time my personal Cheese Bread recipe.  This is a favourite with my partner, who begs me to make this every time I make bread now (but I can’t make it every time, otherwise it wouldn’t be as special!). It’s not uncommon for me to make a loaf of this bread and have it disappear by the end of the night, especially if we have friends over.
Plus it is insanely easy to make.  As you are about to find out!

Single Day Cheese Bread {without a bread maker!}

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups Bread Flour
  • 1 Cup Whole-Wheat All Purpose Flour
  • 1 Tbl sp. Kosher Salt* (of course you can use regular table salt, but I added a note on the end about why I use Kosher Salt)
  • 1/4 Tea sp. Instant Yeast (or Bread Maker Yeast)
  • 1 1/2 Cups Luke Warm Water
  • 1/2 Cup – 1 Cup Grated Cheese

Supplies

  • Large bowl (for making the dough)
  • Spatula (for kneading the dough)
  • Measuring cups or spoons
  • Saran wrap and towel (for rising the dough)
  • Casserole dish with lid (for baking the dough!)
  • Parchment paper

Mix all dry ingredients, don’t worry about mixing the yeast right in! Quick note about bowls: I use a thick ceramic because I’ve found it rises much nicer than in plastic or metal bowls.

Pour in the water, simple and easy.

Put your cheese in after the water, why? I’m not entirely sure but I find that it blends into the dough more evenly this way.  Also, only put in about half of your cheese in this step.

Once the bread is well kneaded (by well kneaded however, I usually do it for about five minutes, which would probably make professional bread makers cry), I add the rest of the cheese, this allows some cheese to be super melted into the loaf and some cheese to turn into delicious gooey bites.

Gently knead the extra cheese into the loaf.

Wrap the dough with plastic wrap, then a towel and put it somewhere where it won’t be disturbed, and preferably somewhere a little warm. I put mine on top of the fridge.

After eight hours or so (sometimes I leave it for more if it’s colder, or if I’m in a rush I’ve even left it for as little as four hours!) the loaf will be a sticky, gooey mess and will have doubled in size.

After you knead the bread again, it’s time for the loaf’s second rising (haha). I try to leave my loaves for a full hour, but sometimes I am impatient and leave it for a little less, but this definitely affects the consistency of the final loaf.

One way to keep patient while you wait for the second rising is to prepare your casserole and oven for baking. I put parchment paper into the casserole dish before pre-heating to make it easier to put the loaf in. Sometimes I sprinkle corn meal on the paper, but that is really just for added texture. Most bread recipes say to pre-heat the casserole dish for 30 minutes before, but I’ve never had any problems with 15 minutes at 420°C.

Bake at 420°C for 30 minutes. Reduce heat to 300°C, take off the lid and bake an additional 15 minutes, or until the top of the loaf is a crunchy golden colour. Then let the loaf cool and enjoy!

Sometimes I do some *additions* to this loaf, such as adding roasted mashed garlic, or other herbs.  Sometimes I sprinkle the top with extra flour before baking to make it a more “farmers loaf” style.  As I mentioned, I also sometimes add corn meal to the bottom too.

If you have any questions, concerns or tips, please let me know in the comments and I would be happy to try to answer them (or thank you for them if they are tips!)

==========================

Why Kosher?

The main reason why I use Kosher over regular salt is simply because Kosher salt doesn’t include additives.  These additives tend to be anti-caking agents, which changes both the taste and texture of the final bread.  Plus, because I don’t grind down the Kosher salt, so I’ve noticed that we use less salt overall.  Of course, the biggest difference between table salt and Kosher is that there is no Iodine in Kosher salt, but whether or not that affects bread making is a big debate that honestly I know nothing about!

==========================

Thanks for reading, until next time.

xoxo

One thought on “Single Day Cheese Bread {without a bread maker!}

express yourself and comment

