The 10 Step Afternoon Apple Crumble Pie

Before I start posting recipes and tutorials, I should probably explain my cooking philosophy and how I generally approach the kitchen.  I like to work quickly, and kind of “fly by the seat of your pants” in overall style.  When I decide to make something new, I look for recipes in my books, then I look at a few recipes on the internet, and then I use what I actually have on hand and make it work.  Sometimes this doesn’t work, but other times I end up re-making a recipe based on my strange recipe mix over and over for a long time.  This particular recipe today is one of those types of recipes.  I first started making apple crumble about two years ago.  It was an on okay recipe, but a little bland.  A few months ago I decided to do something a little different with the recipe and precook the filling.  Now I have people asking for this recipe constantly, but before this last pie, I had never written it down.  So, for the very first time, I offer you my very own Apple Crumble Pie recipe!

The 10 Step Afternoon Apple Crumble Pie

Apple Filling

  • 4 medium sized apples (I used 3 Gala and 1 Red Delicious)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 Tbl sp. corn starch
  • 1 Tbl sp. sugar (I used Turbinado sugar)
  • 1 Tbl sp. brown sugar
  • Cinnamon

Crumble Topping

  • 2 Tbl sp. margarine or butter
  • 1 Tea sp. brown sugar
  • 1 Tea sp. sugar
  • 1 Tbl sp. flour (I used a multi-grain all-purpose)
  • 2/3 cup quick oats

Plus! One deep dish pie crust (I haven’t entirely tried my hand at making a crust “from scratch”, but it is something that I plan on doing soon).

Step One! I like to get everything out before I start. What makes this recipe easy is that you make it in two parts, so you only need the first set (Apple Syrup) of ingredients out. It means I’m not fumbling all over the place if I accidentally let something boil over while I’m rummaging in the cupboard.

Mix the water with dry ingredients in a pot on the stove, turned on low. Don’t make my mistake and add the cornstarch last when the water has already started to heat up (causes lumps).

Cut the apples into cubes, I only lightly peel the apples, depending on how lazy I am feeling. But peels are super healthy for you and I don’t find that they ruin the consistency of the pie. Mix the apples in as you cut them into the water on the stove.

Once the mixture has been brought to a boil, lower the temperature and simmer with a lid.

Let the syrup simmer for at least one hour (sometimes I leave the syrup on the stove for an entire afternoon though!). I have a hard time not constantly bothering something on the stove, luckily for me I have a little distraction that loves apples!

After an hour or so, the apples will have turned a bright golden red colour and the liquid will be a little thicker. But in order to get the sauce perfect you need to leave the lid off, and turn the heat back up a bit. I bring the mix back to a boil and then take it off the stove to cool.

While the filling cools, mix the softened margarine with the dry ingredients to create the crumble. I don’t worry too much about it being even, some parts are more moist and more parts are more crumbly, but I prefer the different textures.

Put the filling into a prepared pie crust, sometimes I use tart shells, and sometimes I just make it as a crumble without a pie crust. I also recommend baking the pie crust for a few minutes empty before filling. Top with crumble.

Bake at 450 °C for 10 minutes, then turn the heat down to 300 °C for 40 minutes (or until the top is starting to get gold brown and crispy).

Let cool (preferably on a wire rack, which I don’t own). I served this pie with butterscotch ice cream and it was delicious! Enjoy.

If you have any questions please let me know in the comments and I would be happy to try to answer them!

Thanks for reading,

xoxo

 

 

 

express yourself and comment

