the Soldier of the Sky and the Soldier of the Deep-Sea earrings

I recently finished another swap, called an OTT (one tiny thing) swap.  It meant that the craft I sent was not allowed to be more than 5″ in any direction.  This one was an anime themed swap.  My partner loves Haruka and Michiru (Sailor Uranus and Neptune) from Sailor Moon.  She also mentioned that she would like earrings, and so I decided to try a new craft: jewellery making!  It was fun, and I do like the results, but I don’t think it is something I would want to do too often.

Sailor Uranus and Sailor Neptune themed hand-made earrings

I made the planet symbol charms, and the wand icon charms out of polymer clay and mixed media.  I assembled all the chain and bead pieces. I also decided to make her a small jewellery box to hold the earrings:

Sailor Neptune and Sailor Uranus hand drawn altered jewellery box.

I picked up the small box (about 3″ long and 1 1/2″ tall) at a second-hand store.  The wood was in nice condition, and the inside was lined in nice blue velvet.  I used two stickers that I had from my childhood (note: that the stickers are definitely not official Sailor Moon merchandise, another sticker from the same pack says “Sailor Moorery” and other silly misspellings).

Currently, I’m working on a garden/ recycling swap.  Send outs are mid this month so I better get working…. Thanks for checking out my latest work!

xoxo

express yourself and comment

