{about being brave} A New Job!

I am a shy person, and ultimately I try to avoid change, confrontations and awkward situations.  I think that this has held me back previously, from pushing myself and trying for opportunities that would make me happy.  But, in reference to this inspiration post here, if you don’t like your job, quit.  In order to quit my old job, I need to have a new job.  I need a new environment, I need new challenges, and I want to be working in my desired field: art.  So, after my previous blog post I decided to take some initiative with my resolutions and look for another job.  Finding a new job in London can be very difficult, we have an unemployment of 9.6%.   I have looked for jobs previously, handed out countless resumes, to no success.  Honestly, I didn’t have much hope of finding a really great job any time soon, and I thought I was wasting my time even looking.  But, dedication certainly pays off!  I applied for framing associate at Michaels (a craft store), and was actually called on the same day.  The next day I had an interview, and  I was kind of nervous.  I had not done an interview in years, let alone an interview that actually asked questions that relied on my art theory background!  After the interview, they said I was hired, and my first day was yesterday.  I’m really excited about this new job, I think that being in a creative environment will inspire me to create more at home too.  Oh, and did I mention I get a discount?  Hell yeah.

I know that when I was younger, all of this would have been far too terrifying to actually do.  I would have sabotaged myself somehow, being too scared to ask a cashier where I should go for my interview, having the confidence to give a great interview (that was actually relaxed and enjoyable), I would have found some way to get out of it.  Some credit though, I really must give to the book I was reading at the time: Coraline (the graphic novel adaptation by Craig Russel).  The story follows Coraline’s development, from being scared and running away, to forcing herself to be brave, until she simply was brave and was no longer afraid.

So be brave, as Coraline says: “when you’re scared but you still do it anyway, that’s brave”.

In an attempt to include a photograph in every single post, I offer you a cute kitty:

Stay classy.

Thanks for reading!

xoxo

express yourself and comment

