stealing inspiration {using paint samples to play with colour schemes}

If you have been reading my blog, then you know that I am undergoing the slightly ridiculous task of re-decorating/ updating my *entire* house.  My partner and I have lived in our modest two bedroom town house for more than four years now and admittedly, our decorating has been sub-par at best.  Unfortunately, we don’t have much (aka any) budget.  Fortunately, I have the internet at my disposal, an art degree to back me up, a partner that pretty much lets me do what I want in the house, and lots of enthusiasm and creativity.  Can I do it?  I hope so.

Anyways, I  have been working on establishing colour schemes in different rooms as “starting points” for my design.  Looking at the different combinations that I have created, it is obvious that I lean towards certain types of colours.

I love having a decent selection of paint chip samples on hand, all the time.  I find that they are the easiest way to play with colour combinations and see how colours look together.  I’m sure all the readers on Apartment Therapy would throw their thief signs at me if they saw my small drawer filled with paint samples (I’m not going to lie, I don’t consider taking paint samples as stealing, and I think it is pretty silly when people get so upset by other’s using paint samples in unconventional ways).  However, I do think that this IS how paint samples are meant to be used, and so, even if taking them was considered theft, this should still fall into the realm of acceptable use.  Not that I’m apologizing.

All of this being said, my approach to re-decorating is not very strict, thanks to our fantastic budget, and so colour schemes are very flexible and I’m not trying to make everything in the room fit the colour scheme.  But I do like the idea of a few colours appearing, albeit in slightly different shades, more than once and in different patterns and combinations.  I guess my design style is probably considered eclectic?

Let me know what you think about these different colour combinations.

Thanks for looking and reading,

xoxo

express yourself and comment

