{DIY: Film Light}

So in my never-ending quest to avoid business work, and re-decorate my entire house without spending more than $20, I bring you the “new” addition to my bedroom: the 35mm Film Side-Table Light!

I made it by ripping apart an old side table light I had purchased with an ex, so I was more than happy to make it into something way cooler (and of course, rip it apart).  It was originally this rather tacky oriental-inspired, flimsy lantern thing, with textured paper (it’s not that it was entirely that ugly, but it was brown, black and white, and I wanted colour!).

It was all really easy to do.  All I did was take the wooden sides apart, and rip the bamboo and paper out (that was surprisingly easy, it looked like it was hot glued in there with only about 6 dots of glue).  I spray painted the wooden frame yellow, and glued three bands of 35mm film into the back.  But my favourite part of this light is at night time, when it projects colour all over the room.  ^_^

I’m really happy with how it turned out.  It took me about 4 days from start to finish (that includes drying times and what not), but I probably spent about four hours working on it.  Since I used materials that I already had, this project effectively cost me nothing!  Hurrah!  Let me know what you think.

xoxo

8 thoughts on “{DIY: Film Light}

  1. Pingback: Saturday Linky Love « Cynchronicity

  2. Isn’t film very flammable? I have a similar lamp I would love to do this to but it makes me a little nervous that it might be a fire hazard.

    • Sorry for the late reply, life has a way of running away from me sometimes. Technically, film *can* catch on fire, however modern film is far more likely to just melt. I would not recommend using any old/ vintage film, as old film could be (as in, if its older than the 1980’s) nitrate-based cellulose film, which is definitely very very flammable. However, almost all (if not all) new film is synthetic polyester base, which is specially designed not to catch on fire.

      Another important safety issue, is that the lamp that I up-cycled, being a rather cheap novelty thing (only cost me about $5 or so when I got it 5 years ago) , uses only low wattage light bulbs. It takes one of those skinny pointy light bulbs (sorry I don’t know the proper name of them), and I think the current bulb is only 20watts (maybe 40). I have tried to find some similar bulbs to fit that are energy saver, but so far I have not had any luck.

  3. I’ve been waiting for a use for my old “stuff”. I like how this looks. I wonder if the twinkly Christmas lights would work (maybe set them not to twinkle)? Another possibility might be to make a window shade (preferably to cover a window that does not need to be opened).

express yourself and comment

