Writing Assignment One: Defamiliarization

Nothing has been the same since that other one appeared.
He eats my food.
He spills everything.
He plays with my toys.
He steals my love.
He steals my affection.
He steals everything.

I try to avoid him as much as possible.
I mean, yeah I suppose he kind of looks like me.
But he is nothing like me.
Mom will never love him as much as he loves me.
I am smarter.
I am cleaner.
I am less noisy.
I am more behaved.
I am better in every way.

Okay, so I admit I let him sleep beside me sometimes.
But only sometimes.
It’s not entirely his fault that he doesn’t understand.
I’ve tried to show him the difference between a piece of garbage and a real toy.
He just doesn’t understand.
I’ve tried to tell him that he is annoying, or that he hurts me when he bites me.
He just doesn’t understand.
I’ve tried to be a good role model, keeping my hair tidy.
He just doesn’t understand.

I’ve tried to tell mom all of this, and that it was okay to bring him back to wherever he came from.
Instead she laughs and coos at him, cuddles him on her lap.
It’s not fair.

express yourself and comment

